University of Chicago

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Andrew_Doan

Doc, Author, Entrepreneur
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anyone in the know offer some insight into the U Chicago program? I have heard bad things about it from my advisor at school, who said the ophtho dept has been having troubles (the previous chair was asked to leave and how ophtho isn't its own department but a division of surgery instead). Does anyone have better information on the state of the residency program and how these things have affected the program quality if at all?

That's true! I was a resident in Chicago metro area (but not in U of C) the department has no freedom in decision making and everyone if affected, that's what I've heard from the insiders.

Members don't see this ad :)
I would not necessarily say all of that is true. I interviewed at UChicago and was very impressed! They have had their issues in the past, but per the residents, it didn't effect their education. The current PGY4s matched at some very competitive fellowships, and they all were very proud of the training they were receiving. I ranked it high in the end.

Last edited: