University of Hartford & MSPP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Student4Life0

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to the forums, so forgive me if I am asking a question that has been answered before! I searched the forums for information regarding the University of Hartford's Psyd program, but found very little.

Just a bit of background...I am currently a masters student in clinical psychology. Just finished my first year and am starting my practicum this summer (very excited!)

I will be applying to Psyd programs in the winter, and am working on my list of schools. Based on what I have read on these forums, I would rather go to a University based program (cheaper than professional schools from what I have seen), and would prefer to stay away from a program whose main theoretical orientation is psychodynamic.

I will be applying to the University of Hartford & MSPP (among others) and am wondering if anyone can tell me about Uha? Good or bad experiences? Also, I have heard that MSPP is very psychodynamically oriented..does anybody know if this is true?

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

I went to an informational session at MSPP over a year ago, and got a feel that the faculty had a lean towards psychodynamic theories and practices. After talking to a student at the info session, he reflected that over his four years in the program he found this psychodynamic lean to be evident, but also stated that there are faculty members that have diverse theoretical orientations. He claimed that he was focused on quantitative research and cognitive approaches, so I guess it is all based on what course material and what practicum sites you choose.