University of Toledo SMP Review and General SMP Info

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UniversityofToledoMSBS

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Disclaimer: I am a medical student who went through an SMP, I wrote this to give to other students who were considering SMPs (specifically the University of Toledo's MSBS program). Many students had very similar questions. I thought I would post it here in the hopes that it would be helpful to others. I am not employed by the University of Toledo nor did I get paid for this, I just went through the program so I thought I would share my experience and why I chose that program. It has also recently gone through some changes, all info is up to date as of 2016.

What is a Special Master’s Program?

A Special Master’s Program (SMP) is a 1 or 2 year Master’s program with medical related coursework designed to help pre-medical students demonstrate academic ability to help them gain entry into medical school.

Who should consider an SMP?

SMPs are great for students with lower than average science GPA. It can be difficult to raise your GPA after taking so many courses in your undergraduate institution, so starting from scratch with a new program gives you a chance to report a new GPA entirely made up of science coursework. It can also be useful for students with lower than average MCAT scores who need time to retake the MCAT. The science courses you take during your SMP may help prepare you for the MCAT, but most do not schedule dedicated MCAT study time, so you will have to carve out the time yourself.