UofL School of Dentistry - Clinical Competency Problems?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

roger.horatio

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear SDN, I am an out-of-state student fortunate enough to be accepted at many private and public schools. I have some questions on the clinical strength of ULSD.

I was blown away by ULSD's new and renovated facilities, but having some close ties and friendship to the KY area (my family raised us until mid-highschool), I've heard complaints from several D3-D4 students having trouble filling their core requirements for graduation, including getting access to patients with complex cases, developing enough exposure to different dental procedures, and not receiving enough competency numbers due to low patient revenue coming in. From what I also understand, the KY patient pool is underserved and definitely needs help, but they do not have the financial abilities to afford even discounted treatments, so they don't come in to get treated. They have a class size of 120, which isn't the smallest nor biggest across the nation's programs, but it makes me wonder how ULSD cannot achieve their competencies for students when other schools much bigger (eg. NYU with 300) are able to do it.

Are these competency sentiments different from other dental schools? Should I be worried entering UofL? Are core competencies harder to achieve for most dental schools due to the greater class size?

Any current ULSD students, I would appreciate your thoughts on the clinical part of the program.

Members don't see this ad.

They have a class size of 120, which isn't the smallest nor biggest across the nation's programs, but it makes me wonder how ULSD cannot achieve their competencies for students when other schools much bigger (eg. NYU with 300) are able to do it.
253,000 people with a population density of 357 per square miles
verus