Update Letter Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctorshateher

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I read the relevant threads that came up when I searched on update letters, but none of them seemed to be in the same position I am in. So please bear with me as I ask a question that has been asked 1000 times before with a slight variation.

When should I send an update letter? Here's my situation. Since submitting my AMCAS I...
+ Had a summer job doing mobile health fairs this summer (tons of clinical experience)
+ Worked as a staff member at my college's band camp (seems irrelevant, but I have a lot of background in marching band and it was one of my most significant experiences on AMCAS)
+ Will start as an AmeriCorps volunteer next week.

I think I have enough info to merit an update letter, but I'm wondering when and to whom I should send letters. I'm thinking that I should send one for sure to the schools I don't have interview invites from yet. But what about schools I'm about to interview at? Should I send a letter in before my interviews, just talk about it at the interviews, or talk about these experiences at the interview and THEN send a follow-up letter with this info in it as well?

Members don't see this ad.

For schools at which you have already been invited to interview, I would plan on discussing your updates in person. I would also prepare to give your interviewers some kind of page reflecting this updates - whether it's in the form of a letter, a CV or resume, or something else is inconsequential. Print several copies so that you will have one for each interviewer. This is even better than sending a letter after the interview because it guarantees the updates will be reflected in the interviewer's final evaluation of you.