katiemaude

7+ Year Member
Apr 5, 2010
Status
Medical Student
A quick summary of my dilemma:

I work as a periop tech. I've been doing it for ~1 year. It's be a great experience working in an OR but I mastered all the skills of the trade by the fourth month. I occasionally pick up new info, but it's along the lines of "OK, now I know how many forceps are on this tray when someone asks me to get it." It's not info I'm going to need for med school.

I was just offered a new position, also as a periop tech. New hospital venture, same company. Same pay, same hours, same schedule. The only plus I can see is that I like working with the other techs I know were hired - they are hard workers and some of my favorite people on my current unit. Of the people left behind on my unit, about half of the other techs are nice but lazy - and I end up having to do their work. With these two techs gone and assuming I stay, we'll be short-staffed (hiring freeze) and I'll be a lot busier. My two wonderful charge nurses are retiring so it will be a rotating cast of bosses. I am BORED. This position is only orthopedics, so supposedly I could learn more about this specialty. I will be getting additional training because the new job has additional duties.

Downside? I have no idea who my new supervisors will be at the new site. The first month of training is insane early hours, and I am going to have to quit anyway in 8 months for med school. So is that even fair to them? And do I even want to waste my brain space when I'm going to be spending the next 7 years taxing it heavily?

I need to give them a decision this morning. My inclination is to regretfully say no.

Last edited:

GreenMed

7+ Year Member
Jan 21, 2012
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Really, you should probably go with your gut on this one. If your gut says to turn down the new job, then go with that.