1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

US citizen with Foreign BS (non US/canada)needs advice

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by budhia, Jul 31, 2006.

1. budhia

budhia Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    I wanted to be a doctor all my life. Unfortunately I lacked the confidence to make the necessary scarifices to pursue my dream. I am now 35yrs old married with 2 kids. I am now ready to accept out loud that I want to be a doctor and it was all I ever wanted to be. I will do everything in my power to pursue this dream. I am willing to take the risk I may never realize this dream BUT I not want to fail simply because I did not try.

A little about my background:
    I graduated with BS in 1992 from a foreign university (not Canada) with Biology major, Chemistry minor. I graduated with MS in Biology in 1996 from US university. (28 didactic credit hours). Did Cell, Molecular Immunology research in both academic and industry labs for 5 years. Completed General Physics I and II (lecture and lab) in 1997-1998. Completed the coursework for PhD Immunology in 2005 (32 didactic credit hours ).

I know some schools require foreign grads to complete 90 credits from US schools (they didn't specify undergrad or grad). Does anyone whether schools would consider grad credits for some undergrad prerequisites. I think it would be a waste of time and money for me to take the first two general undergrad Biology prerequisites.