US MD M4 EM Applicant - Went on 17 interviews - no match, no SOAP, seek research job/advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

EastCoastEMApplicant17

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

You may have seen my posts on the applicant thread and SOAP thread, I am a 4th year student at an allopathic school who applied EM and went on 17 interviews, yielding me a (per charting outcomes, 2016) 99.7% chance to match. My application was absolutely not perfect, I had a low STEP II for instance, but based on the number of interviews I was getting, the strengths of my application (e.g., 3 honors EM rotations with good SLOES) and reasonable intuition, my home PD, my Deans, and myself did not see a need to rank another specialty (e.g. IM) concurrently.

My home PD was "very surprised" and Dean shocked to see that I did not match, and I was unsuccessful in SOAP. I have an extensive research background and realize that further research will not therefore help my application, but it seems like the only way I can find employment in the next year as I prepare to reapply (and of course, prepare for IM or FM). If any academic attendings reading this might know of an opening and be willing to help a student who seems to have fallen through the cracks, I would be happy to exchange messages with you.

Any other advice regarding my gap year would also be appreciated: I plan on taking STEP III in a state that allows it, and perhaps scribing as the best possible option to show I have stayed in the clinical environment, while going on whatever observorship an ER or hospital might allow