US vs. FMG

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by imtiaz, Aug 15, 2000.

1. Hey all,

I'm currently a 4th year undergrad. My statistics aren't impressive in the least, when compared to the vast US Med School applicant pool. However, I have options. My question is twofold: 1)If I go abroad (Carribean) what do I need to do in order to secure a surgical residency here in the US? 2)(Pre-med question) With a 3.0 GPA, how high does my MCAT need to be in order to draw attention from the adcoms. (more specifically, a "this kid isn't so dumb after all" response. Ultimately, I want to go into surgery. Quite possibly general surgery. But definitely some area in surgery. I've been volunteering in a large Veteran's hospital OR and I absolutely LOVE the field. Now, I'm applying this application period to roughly 25+ US schools. But I'm not very confident that I'll be accepted (I'm still going to give it 110%). I fear my numbers are on the low side, albeit borderline, but low. I have a 3.0GPA in Chemistry at The University of Illinois, and a 21MCAT(7V,8P,6B). I'm taking it again in August. There is no real excuse why I did so poorly, but I can say that it was completely unexpected. I just have to be more careful this time (you know something's wrong when you finish 45 mins early in biology). I plan on giving it a lot more thought this time around, needless to say. Anyway, let's say I pull over 30 on the August MCAT. I think that this will somewhat ameliorate (to some degree) my status at least in the eyes of the adcoms. How true is this? Or is it exclusively relative depending on the college in question?