jst1993

7+ Year Member
Apr 27, 2011
Status
I have until May 1st to decide which pre-med program I want to be a part of.
So I am just going to list pros and cons for each one. I was wondering on your guys advice as to which is the best pre-med program for me. Also, my financial aid offer at each school would make me pay the same net amount. However, I prefer the LA area and So CAL as opposed to Norcal. My major is neuroscience and I'm pretty interested in getting a minor in business or philosophy.
UCLA Pros:
Prestige
research opps/internships
Academics(A- on college prowler)
food
more renowned professors
hospital on campus
higher ranking science departments (also higher ranking neurosci program)
UCLA Cons:
20:1 student-to-faculty ratio
Budget Cuts
dorms
Academically Cutthroat?
USC Pros:
9:1 Student-faculty ratio
Private education
Academics (A on college prowler)
marshall school of business, so I could possibly double major in business administration
Trojan Network
Keck School of medicine prefers USC kids? (not sure on this one)
Freshman Science Honors Program
dorms
Cons: location (South Central)
aesthetically unsatisfactory buildings
not as prestigious as ucla/ucb
Could get a minor in the Marshall School of Business
Cal:
Pros: Most Prestige
best academically ranked
most renowned faculty(with x amount of nobel laureates)
Cons: location(far from family etc)
academically cutthroat from what I've heard
dorms

Mar 29, 2011
Status
MD/PhD Student