USMLE Scores Ratings for schools

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by shirazsyrah, Feb 25, 2002.

1. shirazsyrah

shirazsyrah Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

I'm a med student applicant who is trying to find out what the average USMLE scores are for the schools I've applied to. Thus far, I've been accepted at MCP Hahnemann and Boston Univ. I just finished interviewing at Tufts and Georgetown. I've called AAMC and even they couldn't find the passing rate for the schools. Doesn't someone publish this stuff? It would help in deciding. I very much liked MCP (and Philly), but some people from Temple told a friend that MCP doesn't do well on the boards. Any MCPers out there who can clarify this? HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2. Fah-Q

Fah-Q Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Average board scores are are not going to help you much. Top school have top students and those students are the type to study hard and do well on the boards. The school you attend has very little to do with your success on the boards. It's an individual test that has to do with how much effort you put into preparing. A school with a high average board score doesn't guarantee you anything, everyone has to work hard for their board score. Ignore average board scores but I would out about a school's schedule and how it fits with studying for the boards. Do the students get a lot of time off to study? Are students required to take it before 3rd year or can they take it later? Does the school offer any review courses? The answers to these questions I think will help you much more than average board score.

3. ckent

ckent Membership Revoked
    Removed