1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

USMLE Step II

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by DO2be2002, May 21, 2001.

1. DO2be2002

DO2be2002 Junior Member

I am currently a fourth year DO student, getting ready to apply for residency, and I need some advice. I would like to know how important USMLE Step II scores are for granting residency interviews to DO students. I am going into OB/GYN and would like to stay on the west coast. My Step I score is 225 and I am in the top 10% of my class. I have an opportunity to do OB/GYN research at an institution that is high on my residency list during my June vacation. If I decide to take the USMLE, I can't do research because I will need that month to study for the test.

I have called all of the institutions that I am interested in for residency to ask them about the importance of Step II, but I always talk to the secretary and they all tell me that numbers don't matter. I don't believe this.

My major concern is that I will score lower than a 225 on Step II and this will look bad on my residency applications. I guess what I am asking is will a Step II score make me a more competitive DO student for interview invitations, or is research more important?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Neurogirl

Neurogirl Resident Extraordinaire
    10+ Year Member