USUHS Infectious Diseases Quality (MD/PhD)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted826437

Hi all,

I intend to pursue a career as a physician-scientist, potentially in the field of infectious diseases. I was wondering if anyone could offer some perspective on the quality of the USUHS ID program, both MD and PhD.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

If you want to do meaningful research, don't do military medicine. It's not that you can't do research in the military, it's just that its not even in the same league as a large civilian program.

Major Walter Reed (RIP) is probably rolling over in his grave!

To the OP: I have no personal knowledge of the best ways to grade/rate a research program. I do know that USUHS has a good lab with great funding, partnerships with NIH across the street, worldwide partnerships across the globe. Most civilian academic institutions have these as well. You definitely don't have to join a military affiliated program to get a good Infectious disease research experience. Military or government association comes with pitfalls you need to understand fully before engaging.

There are tons of e-mail addresses freely visible on Uniformed Services University so my recommendation is to reach out directly to the sources. Same with civilian institutions you are interested in. This is the only way to learn the information you seek personally. SDN is a very select group of people who will offer their opinions, but don't always have personal experience or facts to provide to you.

I can say that when I call my active duty infectious disease docs (non-academics) for bugs that don't respond to Ancef they always provide great antibiotic choices for me to choose from.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
No one said they were bad ID docs.