UT Family Medicine Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorMom78

Sky Glory
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anyone give me their opinion and the pros and cons of the FM residency at University of Tennessee, Knoxville? I already contacted the program and got the information that they send out, but I wanted to know what someone in the program thinks of it. Also, what do you think about the fellowships that they offer? We are moving to Tennessee and I have fallen in love with the area. I would really like to stay and do my residency there and practice rural FM somewhere in the area. Thanks so much!:)

Members don't see this ad.

I am an intern here at UT-Knoxville, though I suppose you already knew that from our previous interactions. I think it is a great program, obviously. The fellowships are first rate. The ER fellowship always fills it's two positions. It's one of the few EM felllowship programs that are associated with a level I trauma center and also has no EM residency, so all the cool stuff falls in your lap procedure wise, etc. We also are a certified stroke center, so there is a fair bit of tPA use here and they get to do that as well. Tons of other procedures as well such as intubations, LP's, etc. The OB fellowship is great as well, but it is only open to UT-Knoxville residency grads, so it typically goes unfilled as their are only 8 grads per year and not many FM folks are interested in c-section training these days. It's still a great experience. Also, the Sports Med fellowship is just getting back on it's feet. The attending who runs it has done a fantastic job getting it back on track and in my opinion it shows a lot of promise. We are getting two new fellows in July for Sports Med. And the attending that is over it is very knowledgeable and friendly. He just a month or two ago bought us a new XBOX 360 for our resident lounge. The geriatrics program is a