Feb 21, 2021
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Hello everyone, I was hoping that I could get some advice on choosing which medical school to attend. I have been accepted to two medical schools: UT Southwestern and UNC, and I need help figuring out which I will attend.

Some background information: Current Texas resident, I attended East Carolina University (ECU) for my undergrad and was a student athlete on full scholarship. I have no current scholarships for either school, however I am receiving financial aid for both. UTSW is significantly cheaper tuition wise and I have family all in Texas. I have connections in NC due to attending ECU. Plus, I can apply for NC residency after my 1st year of medical school at UNC and then go on to pay instate tuition. I want to be a surgeon and I am interested in Neurosurgery, Orthopedics, and Cardiology. I am a very hard working student and believe I could excel in either's curriculum.

Is UNC more prestigious than UTSW?

Does it really matter where I attend medical school, in terms of finding a good residency program?

Should I choose my medical school based on the area I want to settle in?

Should I attend the school that is known more for surgery or the field that I am interested in?

I understand medical school is very difficult, should I attend the medical school that i am closer to my support system and family?

Should I be more focused on attending the medical school with less debt because both schools or around the same rankings, in Research & Surgery?

Does the prestige of a school matter more now because Step 1 is pass/fail?

I just want to make sure that I am choosing the best school for me and making the best decision for my future. Any kind of advice or answer to my questions would be extremely appreciated! I am having a really hard time deciding on where to go.

Jun 5, 2020
Status (Visible)
  1. Non-Student