Utsw

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

premed2013

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I heard that at UT Southwestern, if you have around a 3.6 and a 30 mcat, you are guaranteed an interview. Is this true?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I heard that at UT Southwestern, if you have around a 3.6 and a 30 mcat, you are guaranteed an interview. Is this true?

I don't remember the exact numbers but that is the gist of it; at least that's what they said in a presentation they gave at my school. Obviously this only applies to in-state applicants.

I have a 3.71 tmdsas gpa (top liberal arts college in the northeast) and I will be a rising junior. So if i maintain my gpa and score 30+ on my mcat, I am almost guaranteed an interview? I am a texas resident.

My extracurricular aren't spectacular but I have the following:

research (since freshmen year)
volunteering at hospital
shadowing
volunteering at a local high school for students who are pregnant
president of Spanish club
tutoring (since sophomore year)

Do i have a chance of getting into UTSW?

I have a 3.71 tmdsas gpa (top liberal arts college in the northeast) and I will be a rising junior. So if i maintain my gpa and score 30+ on my mcat, I am almost guaranteed an interview? I am a texas resident.

volunteering at hospital
shadowing

Obviously Texas resident helps a lot because they have to meet a certain quota. But, it's hard to say if you have a chance. I know the average GPA of applicants accepted to UTSW is somewhere around 3.84/33-34
UTSW is more research oriented so research would def help.

don't worry too much about writing your PS just yet. I dind't finish mine until early June.