UVA vs Mount Sinai

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

justinbaily

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I love both of these schools and they both seem to have a lot going for them. UVA is in a beautiful city and will have amazing new facilities next year. I'm also a Virginia resident, so the tuition would be slightly lower than at Sinai. The UVA campus is gorgeous, too, and everyone seemed to be very pleasant and nice when I was there. I am a little bit concerned about the away rotations. Could any UVA students chime in about those?

Sinai obviously has a great location, as well, but with a far more diverse patient population. The hospital was pretty amazing, too. I think that it was recently ranked the 14th best in the country, although I could be making that up. I think that I would miss having a big campus associated with the school, though. It also seems like I wouldn't have much time for New York as a medical student, which would be a little bit depressing.

How do the two compare? I feel like they are of near-identical quality, but at the same time the two could not be any more different. Would anyone care to weigh in? Does one have a better reputation than the other? They both seem like amazing schools.

Members don't see this ad.

I love both of these schools and they both seem to have a lot going for them. UVA is in a beautiful city and will have amazing new facilities next year. I'm also a Virginia resident, so the tuition would be slightly lower than at Sinai. The UVA campus is gorgeous, too, and everyone seemed to be very pleasant and nice when I was there. I am a little bit concerned about the away rotations. Could any UVA students chime in about those?