PhD/PsyD VA questions

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by clinpsyc87, Aug 3, 2015.

1. clinpsyc87

MD/PhD Student
    Sorry if these have already been answered, I couldn't find anything on search.
    1. Is there a strong preference for clinical over counseling psyc phd?
    2. If all my research has been pediatric, will I still be competitive for a doctoral VA practicum/internship/career?
    3. Is there much opportunity to continue to do research in a VA prac/intern/career?
    Thanks!

2. erg923

erg923 Regional Clinical Officer, Cenpatico National
    10+ Year Member

Psychologist
    1. Probably not, but Im sure it varies across sites.
    2. Probably not
    3. yes

3. clinpsyc87

MD/PhD Student
    #2 worries me the most. I did a lot of adult research in undergrad just all grad research has been pediatric. I'm also a highly decorated combat vet. Maybe I can sell these to increase my odds of getting a doctoral practicum?

4. smalltownpsych

Psychologist 2+ Year Member

Psychologist
    A lot of posters on here work for the VA's so I will defer to their responses. My question would be if you are interested in a career in the VA, then shouldn't you begin looking at research in areas that align more closely with that career?

5. clinpsyc87

MD/PhD Student
    My program is a strict mentorship model and I was only accepted with him because my ms was pediatric... it would be difficult for me to switch. I wish

6. smalltownpsych

Psychologist 2+ Year Member

Psychologist
    So you wouldn't be able to switch but is there a way to tie in potential future interests? Also, in my experience, the VA wasn't as interested in research interests at the practicum level. Not sure about internship level as I didn't match to a VA or even get an interview at the two I applied to so it might mean more at that stage.

7. clinpsyc87

MD/PhD Student
    Hm. What kind of research besides neuro would help me? Did you do VA practicums?

8. Ollie123

10+ Year Member