Very annoying dilemma regarding letters of recommendation.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mattrex35

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
On the ADEA application, if I can recall, we have a maximum of 4 slots/recommendations. I have 2 slots reserved for 2 science professors, and 1 slot reserved for my dentist. However, some schools force you to have 1 non science/liberal arts recommendation. I'm not close with anyone in the non science field. I really want a LOR from my research instructor, since I've co authored papers and have known him for more than 3 years. My dentist and my research professor I'm equally very close with, so sacrificing one will physically hurt me :/

Every school has a different set of letter requirements. Out of all the schools I'm applying to, only 1 require a non science. The rest are more liberal with who applicants should pick. I'm a first time applicant, so I'm new to this. Many schools require 3 letters, but I'm going to get 4. When I submit my application, are dental schools going to get all 4 regardless? Will they ignore one of them depending on which school and the requirements?

Was anyone in the same situation? Do I have to make that sacrifice? I really wish there was a choice to have more than 4 letters of recommendation, so that I can hand pick which letters to send to each school, since every school has such a different requirement.

edit: I actually have one liberal arts professor I have in mind, so I'm good with that. Now its just me deciding between my instructor and liberal arts professor.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: