Very Detailed DAT breakdown - [22AA] - 8/19/2015

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zammyd

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Wow, I can't believe I finally can write one of these! Overall I'm really happy with my scores and definitely have never studied so much for a single test.

The biggest surprise on my test was the PAT portion, it was very difficult. But as others have said, this test is about luck of the draw. It is definitely possible to get harder or easier versions of sections on your test!

Bio - 22
Chem - 21
Orgo - 26
PA - 20
RC - 21
QR - 19
--AA 22

Study timeline

Month 1.5 (Review Cliffs, Destroyer, Chads)
Month 0.5 (Review Destroyer, Chads, one more time and make sure I know all concepts and terms)
Last week (Make sure I have all my notes memorized and concepts ingrained, did bootcamp every day)
- In the last month I studied almost everyday for an average of about 10 hrs

BIOLOGY (22)
Bootcamp = 24/22/18/20/22

HOW I STUDIED: Cliffs AP Biology, Destroyer, Bootcamp, Youtube
- Basically I read through all of cliffs and took detailed notes the first month. Youtubed and googled anything I wasn't too familiar with. To learn the Animal kingdom phyla watch Craig Savage's series of youtube videos on this topic and memorize the phyla tree he illustrates. For plants/photosynthesis youtube Khan academy.
- I went through destroyer once, and again, looked up anything I didn't know. I put a star beside anything I thought I should go over again, and when I went through destroyer a second time I made sure all the starred questions were good with me. FOR BIO MAKE SURE YOU GO THROUGH DESTROYER AT LEAST 2 TIMES. This is a must as it will solidify all the random terms and definitions in your head, which is crucial.
- I did bootcamp within the week leading up to my test. Did one bio bootcamp test a day.

ACTUAL TEST (*The following are tips based on my version of the test, yours may be different)