Very low blood sugar

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nater44

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not and er doc and currently enduring the med school application process...but I work as a tech in an ED. We had a lady that was rail thin come in the other night suffering from an eating disorder.

Another tech took her blood suger and said it was 3

All you er docs out there, is that possible? Wouldn't she be in a coma? I must have heard it wrong.

Members don't see this ad.

to the best of my knowledge, anything below a 20 mg/dl of glucose in the blood can put you in a coma. The finger tip blood glucose test used in the ED has SOME degree of error attached to it, and I guess the more on the extremes you are, chances are, it'll give a false reading... meaning, a very low or a very high actual blood glucose level would not be accurately read by the device. But it would atleast give you an idea of the situation... and so I would say that yes, the lady had a low glucose, but to say its 3 and she was still awake and talking is next to impossible... or so I like to think... But please correct me if I'm wrong..
Hope this helps...
samdaman

The only causes of a blood sugar that low are overdose on insulin or a insulinoma (B-islet cell neoplasm)...as long as you have any fat or muscle, your circulating blood sugar will be higher than 20.

Members don't see this ad :)
What units were they using - that ok for mmols not for mg/dl

Craig

I agree with the first poster. Accuchecks and chemstrips are only accurate within a certain range of blood sugars, so although the machine gave a bld glc of 3, all that means is that the sugar was too low for it to accurately measure (which is about as bad). Most of the machines I am familiar with start to crap out below 40-50.

Casey, MSIV