Very Non-traditional student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

positivetwo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I am 41 year old "extremely" non-traditional pre-med student. I am so glad to find this resourceful forum.
I am planning to apply for University of Colorado School of Medicine AND Rocky Vista Osteopathic School of Medicine in 2018. I prefer to stay in Colorado while I will be in medical school since my extended family lives here. My cGPA is 3.63 and sGPA is 3.72. I have not yet taken the MCAT. I am planning to retake most of my science classes since they were taken for more than 10 years ago. I have a Bachelor's and Master's degree in Nursing. My graduate school GPA is 3.92 (probably not a factor for the medical school). I have over 10 years of RN experience, and 1 year of Nurse Practitioner experience. I have realized that my clinical knowledge as an NP is somehow limited, and I would love to learn more about medicine to help my patients. Most of my clinical background has been on the military as an active duty officer and VA medical systems. I hope my clinical experience could be a positive factor when applying for the medical schools. My primary and only interest is working at a military facility after graduation. Therefore, I am interested in the HPSP program, and internal medicine residency at a military medical facility.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Do you have a question, or were you just wanting to introduce yourself? FWIW, welcome to SDN, and no, you're not particularly unusual as a nontrad story. You'll hardly be the first nurse, the first person in their 40s, or the first nurse in their 40s, to apply to med school. Depending on which service you want to enter, however, you may need to rethink your HPSP plans, as they have age limits.

Reactions: 1 users