Veteran Education Benefits & How to Use Them? (Texas)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dauntless17

Reaction score
Currently about 350 days shy of separating from active duty and have ~2 years left of undergrad to complete.

Being a TX resident, I'll qualify for the hazlewood exemption and both VA education benefits. I'm trying to figure out the best way to utilize both the hazlewood and post-9/11 or MGIB.

So far I've only found that I can't use both at the same time..
To be eligible for the hazlewood, a vet must:
"Have no federal Veteran’s education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31; for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;"

Does anyone have any insight or experience with using both the Hazlewood Exemption AND the MGIB or Post-9/11 G.I. Bills? If so, please feel free to share.

**EDIT: I realize now this thread would be better suited in the Non-trad forum. is it possible to have it switched?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: