Volunteer Hours/Am I on the right track...?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdprospect1

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am currently a sophomore in college and had a question about volunteering hours and how they are counted on AMCAS. Since I was in middle school, I volunteered at an Alzheimer's care facility (nursing home) by playing an instrument. I did this up until last March before COVID really started to get worse. Would hours volunteered during high school count because I continued volunteering at the same place or do I have to start from college? I know I can't add hours from when I was in middle school but I think it would be meaningful to talk about how I started this from a very young age. I realize there are some threads discussing this but I just wanted some clarity.

Also, I was wondering if I am on the right track in terms of my stats/ECs. I know that once I take my MCAT that'll strongly determine where I apply but I would like to know if my ECs are okay... I have not included hours but most of them are substantial. I'm just worried whether I'm doing enough. Thanks.

cGPA: 3.87

MCAT: Deciding whether to take it in junior or senior year if I want a gap year...

Volunteering:
-Nursing home
-Local hospital
-School club that helps kids with disabilities
-Mentoring kids program (kind of like BBBS)

Research:
-Microbio research at my college
-Cardiovascular summer internship

Shadowing:
-None (oof. trying to find opportunities rn)

Work experience:
-CNA at a nursing home

Leadership experience:
-SI leader for gen chem

Awards:
-Research scholarship from school

Members don't see this ad.