SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Volunteer Hours: Helpful or Necessary?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Tnguyen87, Apr 16, 2007.

1. Tnguyen87

Tnguyen87

Apr 11, 2007
    Houston
    Hello, I am a sophomore pre-med student who just started to volunteer at a local hospital. I was wondering how much of my time should I dedicate into this? If I volunteer at a constant rate, by the time I apply for medical school, I would have about a thousand hours of healthcare/clinical experience. Would it be a big plus to my application? Would adcoms be more lenient to the numbers?(GPA/MCAT)

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Robizzle

Robizzle 1K Member 2+ Year Member

May 28, 2006
    Boston & NYC
    1) Yes

2) No, you need the entire package.

4. IceMan0824

IceMan0824 Holy crip, he's a crapple 5+ Year Member

Dec 7, 2006
    Welcome my friend, to the world of the pre-med.

5. Green Pirate

Green Pirate Neurotic Neuro Enthusiast 5+ Year Member

Nov 13, 2006
    In the long run, you would probably be better off ditching the volunteer position and shadowing some physicians with all that extra time. A little bit of volunteer work looks good, but you'll probably learn a lot more and have a lot more to talk about at potential interviews if you shadow. I'm probably not going to continue my volunteer post after this semester (~50 hours). It's a real waste of time.

6. happy snake

happy snake 2+ Year Member

Jul 26, 2006
    IL