Volunteer Hours

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sleight

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new at this and I tried to search for a thread that answered my question but didn't have any luck. In high school I did a mentorship with a pediatric surgeon basically shadowing him, watching surgeries, etc. In total I did about 50 hours in that. Also, I did about 100 hours volunteering in the Pediatric/Pediatric ICU. My 100 hours was during high school and the summer after high school. I am not doing so hot with hours right now for during my undergrad :oops: so I was wondering if these hours should/could be included on my application...I am planning to apply this June and will be taking the MCAT's this April. I do not have any research experience and I plan on doing as much volunteer experience that I can in the spring semester (hopefully 15-20 hours a week as I will only have 13 units). I also have to fit in studying for the MCAT so I am trying to figure out how to organize my time the best I can. My main question through the babble is whether I should/could use my mentorship and/or volunteer hours from awhile ago...Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

The primary AMCAS application does not let you post volunteer experience from high school. However, you should consider including that information in your personal statement and/or secondaries. I'd recommend trying to get some volunteer work in before you submit your initial application just so you can include it.