Volunteer to go Active, Abroad? Military Psychiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ba52

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All!

I'm in my last year of residency in Psychiatry. I have 16 years of National Guard time and am in drill status currently. I used the Army National Guard ASR program as a medical student and am currently getting loan repayment, year for year to the tune of $40K (actually $30K after tax), up to 6 years. I'll have 2 of these years paid by graduation in June.

As I approach graduation I have been thinking seriously about volunteering to go active for a few years doing Psychiatry ideally somewhere like Germany, Japan or South Korea. I like the idea of serving soldiers or airmen and have had a great experience so far stateside. I will say that the time I spent in the Air Guard felt more productive and organized from a leadership standpoint, though the Army has introduced me to many great friends and fine people. I'd like to be able to travel some while abroad. I have a 14 year old kid who would be coming with and so high schools around base are important. I really love the idea of a cultural experience living abroad.

I've reached out to the Air Force and they tell me 3 years minimum for contracts/tours, never heard of any exceptions but they are hurting for psychiatrists and if I want to go abroad then I would likely have a pick of places and ability to specify in contract before signing. Financially I have no clue what compensation is looking like. AF is offering a $272K sign on bonus, not sure if this is pre-tax (which would cut it by about 40%) or if it is divided over 3 years. The local VA is paying graduating psychiatrists a starting salary of around $200K with $24K in loan repayment (plus the 30K in loan repayment I get from the Army National Guard). Can anyone shed light on the pay for physicians?