Volunteering abroad right after submitting primary; how do I not sound pompous?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mijlee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Firstly I'd like to thank everyone at SDN who has helped me out before. The forums are a great resource that I've learned a lot from (when read with discretion of course).

I've been dying to go to a particular hospital in Kenya for over two years, but circumstances would not permit it. This summer is the first chance I got; if I can I'll go again after the cycle. I'll be staying there for two months, from right after graduation (and primary submission), to my sister's wedding. I wanted to stay longer but alas some familial obligations are not to be trifled with.

How do I not sound like a pompous dick and mention this to medical schools? My first preference was to not mention it at all; it admittedly feels awkward to put it in my PS and I know future activities are a no go anyways. However I do feel like it would reflect well on me. I feel like this is another example of the humility/vanity dichotomy that is so confusing when it comes to applications and interviews.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Firstly I'd like to thank everyone at SDN who has helped me out before. The forums are a great resource that I've learned a lot from (when read with discretion of course).

I've been dying to go to a particular hospital in Kenya for over two years, but circumstances would not permit it. This summer is the first chance I got. I'll be staying there for two months, from right after graduation (and primary submission), to my sister's wedding. I wanted to stay longer but alas some familial obligations are not to be trifled with.