Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

waitlists and waiting: what to do next?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by waiting08, Dec 15, 2008.

1. waiting08

5+ Year Member

I applied to 30-something schools (maybe half were reaches), primary in June and all secondaries by August.

I have had five interviews August through October, and haven't had any more invites. I'm waiting to hear from two schools, and am on waitlists at 3.

I had a low UGPA (3.3) and a higher SMP GPA (3.5), but neither was great. I have lots of experience in research, patient care, EMT, international experience etc. Doing work/research for my float year.

So, I was feeling pretty positive in October but more and more nervous as time goes on. I've sent a few updates to schools (re: work and general "I really want to interview" emails), but none in the past month or two - nothing to report, really. What should I do next? No interview invites - and the last invites tend to go out in January/early February, right?

Should I be sending empty "still doing research and working, hope to interview" letters to everyone? Should I be making calls? Is there anything else I can do at this point? Also, for waitlist schools, what tends to be successful in number of updates? Help!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. aznb0y129

aznb0y129 Oh hamburgers!
    7+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Medical Student
    I'm in a similar boat. Applied to 20 schools, secondaries completed by August. 4 interview invites total, none since early November, 3.6 GPA (sci and cum), 31N. I am lucky to have one acceptance so far though, so I'm less anxious at this point. Nevertheless, I am still waiting for 10 schools to invite, hold, or reject me.