Walgreens offer: Do I have to work more than 64hr/pay period?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rphgatekeeper

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm a 2020 grad who just got offered FT with walgreens. FYI it was ~78k for 64 hrs (not great by any stretch, I know). My main question is if I can reasonably keep my hours to 64? I had an interview with a hospital that went well, for per diem. Ideally I would do walgreens for the benefits, and continue to work hospital where I am most interested. My biggest concern is walgreens taking over my life. I really want to leave my schedule as available as possible for hospital shifts. I'm assuming I can keep walgreens to 4 days, 32 hours/wk. Any insight is appreciated. I have never worked community, only hospital throughout school. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

It will more likely be closer to 70 hours a pay period while only getting paid for 64 in all reality. And yes - you can expect wags to take over your life, that’s just what retail does.

I suppose the signs of pharmacy school being a bad idea were there when you started school... did you not pay attention?

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
It will more likely be closer to 70 hours a pay period while only getting paid for 64 in all reality. And yes - you can expect wags to take over your life, that’s just what retail does.

I suppose the signs of pharmacy school being a bad idea were there when you started school... did you not pay attention?
Technically they can't require me to go beyond 64 right? I have no problem standing my ground, even saying I have another job. Just trying to get input from those who have worked the industry. I tried asking the person who offered the job, and he seemed to pawn it off onto the scheduler. So I just have to take this guy's word that they are usually open to some input on what our schedule looks like.