• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

WAMC? 1st Time Applicant & 1st Gen

Doctah2727

Dec 29, 2019
Hello! I’m a first time applicant majoring in Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology and on track to graduate a year early as well as applying this upcoming cycle. I am a male from Southern California and I am also a first generation college student. I am interested in applying for DVM/PhD programs at Davis, Cornell, UPenn, Illinois, CSU and Michigan state. I will hopefully have a paper at least submitted for review for publication as the first author before applications are due. I’m interested in possibly being a professor at a vet school one day and doing research while clinical work on the side. Also, I am interested in pursuing a residency after vet school.

Cumulative GPA: 3.8 (aiming to be a 3.88 once applications are submitted!)
science GPA: 3.9
last 45: 4.0

Any degrees achieved: N/A

GRE results: Q/V/W

Taking the GRE June 19th, will retake again this summer if my results aren’t as good as I would hope them to be!

LOR for DVM application: 2 strong letters from doctors at the same SA clinic I’ve worked at the last 2 years, 1 decent letter from my organic chemistry professor (he says he only writes them for students who get an A in his class)

LOR for dual degree app: 1 from my PI, one from another professor at another university who I collaborate with, and one from a researcher I’ve worked with for the last two years

Veterinary Experience:
-600 small animal hours as a hospital assistant (around 800 by the time i submit my application)
-will have about 80 hours shadowing a large animal vet by the time I submit my application