WAMC: 504 MCAT, 3.84 cGPA, 100+ Clinical, NJ

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drcougar21

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
It’s that time of the year again, and of course I am considering my options. I am a NJ resident, and a re-applicant. I applied last cycle (albeit late) and received an invitation for two interviews, and both now waitlisted (HP and R WL). I am re-applying this cycle in case I don’t get moved off of these lists, but I am having concerns with reapplying.

My concern is with my MCAT score. My first MCAT score was pretty low, but my psych score was a 126. It sucks my latest attempt has a lower psych score, but I did much better overall. I plan on applying to a good mix of MDs and DOs, but I was looking for opinions on how I should go about this and if I should retake my MCAT for a higher score (would be 3rd attempt). My stats are below.

MCAT: 504 (127/126/127/124) - June 2021
cGPA/sGPA: 3.84/3.80
Research: ~ 225 hours (over 2 yrs).
B.S. Cell Biology, May 2021

Shadowing & Volunteering Pediatrician ( ~ 100 hours)
Years Tutoring Biological & Chemical Sciences
Volunteer EMT for 1 year (100+ hours)
Hospital Volunteer for 9 months (~100 hours)
COVID Vaccine Scheduling: Scheduled for 150+ individuals
*Lining up 2nd shadowing opportunity with another doctor.

Letters from Med Resident, pediatrician, pre-health advisor/science professor, research supervisor, extracurricular activity.

Thank you for your time and advise. Wish you all success!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
You are competitive for the majority of DO schools with a MCAT of 504 and your GPAs. I suggest these schools:
RowanCOM
PCOM (all schools)
NYITCOM
Touro-NY
LECOM (all schools)
MU-COM
DMU-COM
ATSU-KCOM
KCU-COM
TUNCOM
UIWSOM
ACOM
CUSOM
WVSOM
WCU-COM
For MD schools I suggest these:
Your 3 NJ state public schools
Hackensack
New York Medical College
Albany
Vermont
Quinnipiac
Drexel
Temple