WAMC c/o 2027

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vetmedhopeful416

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody,

25F, 3rd time applicant… I applied previously in 2019 and 2020, applied to 3-4 schools each time and was rejected. I had a very low undergraduate GPA, got a degree in Biology 2015-2019. My undergraduate GPA was 2.65.. I know, very low. I took 3 semesters post bacc to retake some courses and then Fall 2021 I started my masters degree. I am in my last semester of my masters in cell and molecular biology, of which I have maintained a 4.0 GPA. My cumulative GPA is still relatively low, around 2.9, but I have an amazing academic record the last two-three years. My overall science GPA is about 3.2. I gained some research experience in a lab during my masters degree, something I lacked before. I have about 12,000 vet hours, with 7600 of these hours as a tech (about 4000 of them as a credentialed technician). Most of my experience is in small animal medicine, but this summer I did about 40 hours of shadowing a large animal veterinarian. I have four letters of rec - 2 academic (my masters advisor and a professor from my masters program) and 2 DVM (one ER DVM, one DACVECC). My undergrad GPA was partly due to my mental health - i was struggling with undiagnosed ADHD and anxiety/depression at the time, my academic performance vastly improved once i got a handle on this and I did include that in my explanation statement. I scored into the third quartile on the casper.

Overall VMCAS GPA: 2.91
VMCAS Science GPA: 3.18
graduate science GPA: 4.0
Overall graduate GPA: 4.0
Undergrad GPA: 2.64
Last 45 credits GPA: 3.97

GRE: verbal 157 (76%) quantitative 154 (53%) writing 3.5 (39%)

Casper: 3rd quartile

Vet hours: over 12,000, 4,000 as a CVT in emergency and critical care, previous primary care experience (small animal)
40 hours of job shadowing equine vet