MD WAMC/List: Canadian, Low 1st year GPA, High 2-4th year + MSc GPA, 522 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hersheythebar

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a Canadian MSc student looking to apply to American medical schools this cycle. I plan to apply to Canadian MD schools in the upcoming cycle (my first time applying to MD in general), but I thought I’d give US MD schools a try as well to have more options. As I am new to this, I would tremendously appreciate some feedback on my application and some suggestions for Canadian-friendly US MD schools – thank you for your time!

cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS
I’m going to provide some extra detail here as I can’t help but worry/stress about this and would really appreciate some feedback!

cGPA (Year/GPA): 1st/2.9, 2nd/3.97, 3rd/4.0, 4th/4.0, MSc/4.0 – Cumulative: 3.74

sGPA (Year/GPA): 1st/2.91, 2nd/3.96, 3rd/4.0, 4th/4.0, MSc/4.0 – Cumulative: 3.75

Due to personal circumstances and a rough transition to undergrad, my 1st year GPA was relatively poor. But then, I maintained a strong GPA throughout my undergrad and into my MSc. Will my cumulative GPA be a significant impairment, or will admission committees give me some leeway for the poor 1st year, given my later performance?

MCAT score(s) and breakdown
522 (130/130/130/132)

State of residence or country of citizenship (if non-US)
Ontario, Canada

Ethnicity and/or race
South Asian

Undergraduate institution or category
University of Toronto, Canada

Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer)
Non-volunteer: provided virtual assistance with COVID-19 testing (300 hours), pharmacy assistant (600 hours – does this count as clinical?)
Volunteer: physical therapy assistant in rehabilitation medicine gym (400 hours)

Research experience and productivity