WAMC(MD+DO) and where should I apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RN2physician

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

In the past year I have decided to endeavor on the journey to transition from nursing to medicine. I will be applying next year for the 2023 admission cycle. Here are some stats:

1. cGPA: 3.41 sGPA: 3.63 with an upward trend Post bacc : 4.0 33 credit hours
  2. MCAT score(s): 501 =/
  3. State of residence: North Carolina
  4. Ethnicity and/or race: Hispanic male 26 years, unable to speak spanish well
  5. Undergraduate institution: Alabama public university, BSN
  6. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer): 1. I have been a registered nurse for the past four years, working in neurological ICU, surgical-trauma ICU, step-down ICU, telemetry, renal+pulmonary med surg, post op orthopedic floor. Around 10000+ hours of bedside experience. 2. I live with type one diabetes and have volunteered as a camp nurse for children with diabetes, where I educate them on how to live with their chronic disease and proper techniques to test blood glucose and administer insulin(not sure if this counts as clinical experience).
  7. Research experience and productivity: Assisted at a sleep center with physician conducting sleep apnea research during my first year as RN. Research poster presented in nursing school on the effects of skin to skin contact after birth between mother and baby. Community assessment research and presentation on cirrhosis in rural towns.
  8. Shadowing experience and specialties represented: 60 hours of shadowing internal medicine DO that I work with, who is also providing letter of recommendation. 40 hours shadowing primary care DO. 20 hours with general surgeon. It was during my nursing school clinicals, but I spent the whole week following this doctor and he talked me through multiple cases explaining what he was doing, so not sure if that counts.