MD & DO WAMC || Need help generating a school list. || (3.6 cGPA/508)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sr1898

Reaction score
Hello, I would appreciate some help thinking of a school list for the upcoming cycle.

1. cGPA = 3.61, AMCAS sGPA = 3.42, AACOMAS sGPA = 3.39
  1. I have an upward trend. I went from a 3.4 GPA to a 3.6. My grades significantly improved in my last two years of college. I took 5 years to graduate and used the last year to take classes for my minors and to show that I was capable of succeeding in upper-level courses, since I struggled in my sophomore and junior years.
2. MCAT score(s) and breakdown
  • 508 (123/128/128/129)
  • I know the 123 in CP isn't great... I asked my advisor if he thought I should retake the test, but he said no and told me to apply. Now I'm worried that I should've just retaken it.
3. I am a CA resident.
4. I am an ORM.
5. I went to a California State University.
6. Clinical experience / Non-clinical experience
  • clinical volunteering: 125 hours volunteering a hospital assisting patients, and in the ER
    • I would have more hours but my shifts were abruptly cut off due to COVID. I had been volunteering at this hospital for about a year.
  • non-clinical volunteering: I volunteer with crisis text line. I just started this, so I only have about 20ish hours under my belt.
  • non-clinical volunteering: misc activities with my school club, like food drives, clothing drives, river clean-ups, etc. Maybe about ~50 hours worth of this?
7. Research experience and productivity
  • two semesters total. each semester had a different project to focus on. no pubs. I estimate I spent ~70ish hours for both of these projects, combined. one project was an independent research project.
8. Shadowing experience and specialties represented