• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

• How To ACE Your Medical School Interview

In this webinar hosted by SDN with experts from BeMo Academic Consulting, you will learn a simple five-step process to help you translate your interview invitation into an acceptance.

Say Cheeze

5+ Year Member
May 31, 2016
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Dental
Hey guys! So I will be applying to dental school for the fourth time this cycle. I am a non-traditional applicant (27yo), graduated from undergrad in 2015. I was hoping to get some advice on how to proceed with this next application cycle.

I'm a Texas resident, and ideally I would like to stay in state for dental school. There are many factors which keep me from applying OOS (cost, fiancé, are to name a few). For me personally, dental school is not worth a 500k+ debt. So instead, I've been patient and taken steps to become a more competitive applicant for my in-state schools every cycle.

Since undergrad, I went back and retook classes I got a grade of C in. I also completed my SMP in biomedical science last May (4.0 GPA). And this past October I retook my DAT and scored a 23AA/23TS (previous attempt was a 20AA/20TS).

I've also been working as a dental assistant for four years now. I have fairly good shadowing and volunteering hours, and a publication on research I did after undergrad. My LOR's are really strong (I have read 2/3 of them).

This last cycle I applied in July and interviewed at UTSD-Houston in December and was recently waitlisted.
I also think a factor could be that I retook my DAT late last cycle and the schools didn't receive my official score until mid November.

overall GPA: 3.26
sGPA: 3.06
masters GPA: 4.0
DAT: 23

So my question is, what else can I do to become a more competitive applicant for Texas schools?