MD & DO WAMC sub 3.0 GPA, 4.0 masters, 511 MCAT, reinvention/mature student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctor_professor_cox

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi y'all. Wanting to see what you all think of my chances
  1. cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS
    1. Assuming my calculations are correct my overall GPA (including 32 units of grad GPA) is 2.93. Science of 2.97 and non-science of 2.90. Undergrad GPA was 2.60c/2.39s/2.76 non science.
    2. I graduated undergrad in 2015 and did an accelerated (9 month) masters program in microbiology and immunology where I got a 4.0 in all of my classes.
  2. MCAT score(s) and breakdown
    1. 504 in January 2018 (127/124/126/127)
    2. 511 in August 2019 (129/129/127/126)
  3. State of residence or country of citizenship (if non-US)
    1. Colorado
  4. Ethnicity and/or race
    1. White, Male
  5. Undergraduate institution or category
    1. UC Santa Barbara
  6. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer)
    1. 911 EMT for 2.5 years, ~6500 hours
    2. EMT in the ED almost 1 year, 2 years by the time school would start, ~3500 hours
    3. Volunteering with Global Medical Brigades, trips to Africa and Central America, ~300 hours
    4. Volunteering with underserved medical organization, ~200 hours
  7. Research experience and productivity
    1. Currently working on a systematic review with a surgeon I work with, WILL be published but likely won't be until midway or later through the cycle.
  8. Shadowing experience and specialties represented
    1. ED, Trauma Surgery, ~100 hours
  9. Non-clinical volunteering
    1. N/A
  10. Other extracurricular activities (including athletics, military service, gap year activities, leadership, teaching, etc)
    1. NCAA athlete first two years of undergrad
    2. Premedical fraternity in undergrad, on the leadership council for one year