WAMC this cycle - 1st time applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cheesedreams

Michigan State CVM c/o 2024
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! I'm a senior biology major entering my last semester and stressing about applications. I'm a 21 y/o PA resident applying to UPenn, Ohio, and Michigan. I'm pretty open when it comes to possible career options, except I'm 90% sure I don't want to go into small animal GP. My main interests have been zoo med and pathology, though.

Cumulative GPA: 3.55
science GPA: 3.44
last 45: 3.58

Degree: B. S. in Biology. Graduate Dec 2019.

GRE results: Q 155 (56%)/V 157 (76%)/W (haven't gotten this back but Upenn doesn't look at it anyway)

Veterinary Experience:
-460 hrs as a veterinary assistant at a SA clinic (this is current experience)
-310 hrs as an intern at a zoo's animal hospital (I was responsible for husbandry/treatments of hospitalized animals, setting up for procedures, processing lab samples, assisting/performing necropsies, etc.)
-50 hrs shadowing at a different SA clinic

Animal Experience:
-3,000+ hours working at a horse boarding stable cleaning stalls and basic animal husbandry
-400 hrs as a member of my local Pony Club
-300 hrs doing pony rides
-~100 hrs dog walking/sitting

I did not include pet ownership here but I have owned dogs, cats, hamsters, and fish my entire life and have owned a horse for 8 years now.

Research Experience:

-250 hrs currently working on my senior capstone project, an environmental toxicology study using zebrafish embryos

Awards/scholarships:
-Dean's list, 3 semesters
-3 scholarships
-Inducted in my school's biology honors society as well as Pi Sigma Pi (another honors society)

Extracurriculars:
-Treasurer of my school's Pre-Vet Society
-Vice President of my school's Equestrian Club
-Was the section leader in my high school's concert, jazz, and marching bands
-Was a lead in my high school's musical