WAMC Thoughts on my change in direction

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JAKRPH

Reaction score
Hello,
I have been pursuing a career in pharmacy for the past two years and I am currently working on my pre-reqs. I recently applied this cycle and I was accepted to a couple of different schools, however, with the way the job market is looking I am looking at switching to medicine.

I am a nontrad. I am a 27yo white male currently living in FL (wanting to move). My current cGPA is 3.56 and my sGPA is 3.86 both of which have an upward trend. The only B I received in a science class was a class called introductory chemistry to help get me caught up. I graduated high school a year early and started attending community college when I was 17yo and really didn't take it seriously, so I dropped out before I damaged my GPA any further.

I am currently at a state school and I will have my pre-reqs finished at the end of this semester. I was not planning on finishing my Bachelors since I managed my way into pharmacy school without it. To pursue medicine, however, I would transfer to the University and get my BS in BioMedical science.

I have been back in school now for two years and have received mostly A's with a couple B's and my current GPA at this school is a 3.81. As far as EC's go I have been tutoring math and chemistry for my schools Bridge to Baccalaureate program which is a nationally recognized LSAMP program and have participated in some research which I received one credit hour for I also shadowed at a nuclear pharmacy. Now that I am considering pursuing medicine I am thinking about getting a job as a scribe to pump up my EC hours.

I am sure there are a lot of things I left out. If there is any way I would be able to start a correspondence with someone knowledgable I would be extremely grateful.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: