Want to be an NP but have a bad back and hip (NPs with relatively sedentary jobs?)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ElJamo17

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
-thank

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey everybody,

I was a neuroscience major in college. I have struggled to find work that translates well to what I studied until I began reading about psychiatric NPs.

My only concern is that I don't want to spend the majority of my time standing, this could be difficult due to some congenital issues.

I don't mind standing up for an hour at a time, stooping, etc. but I would find it hard to be on my feet for 12 hours straight. Are psychiatric nps a little more sedentary than most nursing classes?? Are there other specialties that are a bit more sedentary?

-thanks

You would have to become a RN first with RN clinical rotation and schedules. With the health problems you describe I don’t see that happening.