Want to go back to school-will my BS in Geology cover most preReqs

Dec 16, 2010
Status
Non-Student
Hi all,
Great forum. I’ve been working in the environmental field for 16 years as a licensed Professional Geologist and am thinking of a career change to Pharmacy. My wife is a nurse and I have a huge admiration for the medical field, but do not think the hospital environment is the way for me. Anyway, I feel it is time to move on from my current work in the environmental cleanup industry as it is moving in a direction away from my original goals.
Obviously I already have a comfortable salary and am worried about going back to school for a long period, especially since I am 39. My wife and I have some money saved up and probably would not have to rely on loans to get through. She will continue to work full time. However, I really want to get though the program as fast as I can.

Before I make my final decision, I am curious how much of my BS degree will give me a jump start on the Pharmacy program. I graduated in 1993 with a BS degree in Geology as cum laude and had an overall GPA around 3.2-3.3. Think I had a GPA of 3.8 in my degree. I took Calc 1 and 2 and a couple of chemistry and physics general courses along with a lot of under graduate to graduate level science courses (mostly related to the Earth Sciences of course). Assuming I can get a decent score on the PCAT, with my background should I be able to go straight into a program without requiring many or no prerequisites? Would love to do one of the 3-year accelerated programs I read about here. But really can’t see myself going back to school more than 4 years. I live near Charlotte which is close proximity to Wingate and UNC. Thanks for any advice.

Samus2008

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Oct 20, 2008
Status
I think most schools have a limit how old a pre-req can be. I've never seen more than 10 years accepted so you might have to retake pre-reqs.

Samus2008

Membership Revoked
Removed