Wanting to go to Vet school, but...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medpup

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a 2005 grad with a BA in Biology. I am now looking into vet school. The problem: My GPA is pretty low (cum: 3.3, science/math: 3.0-3.1) and I have zero experience with a vet or anywhere else. The only experience I have is research experience on marine habitats and environmental toxicology.

What can I do?

Should I enroll in a post-bac to enhance my gpa? or Should I just focus on getting experience and get a competitive score on the GRE?

Extra info: I live in NYC and I wouldnt want to attend school too far so I am limited to about 3 schools or so.

Any info would be great!
Thanks
JM

Members don't see this ad.

medpup said:
Hello All,

I am a 2005 grad with a BA in Biology. I am now looking into vet school. The problem: My GPA is pretty low (cum: 3.3, science/math: 3.0-3.1) and I have zero experience with a vet or anywhere else. The only experience I have is research experience on marine habitats and environmental toxicology.

What can I do?

Should I enroll in a post-bac to enhance my gpa? or Should I just focus on getting experience and get a competitive score on the GRE?

Extra info: I live in NYC and I wouldnt want to attend school too far so I am limited to about 3 schools or so.

Any info would be great!
Thanks
JM

Definitely get experience. As much as you can. And to be honest, don't bother applying this year, it will just be a waste of money... unless you want to claim yourself as a reapplicant next year, which may or may not help.
If it's possible, take some grad-level classes (or re-take science classes you did poorly in) *while* getting experience.