General Admissions & OTCAS Ways to help strengthen my application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopeful_OT2024

Reaction score
Hi all! I'm new to this student doctor forum and just wanted to share my stats so far. I also wanted to gain some feedback on how I can help strengthen my application, and what you all are doing as future applicants during this coronavirus era.

GPA: 3.8 pre reqs, (pending anatomy II) ending in the next month, 3.55 overall GPA
Shadowing: 30 hours in peds, 30 hours in SNF
Healthcare Experience: Working as a pain tech with patients 1 year so far, and an administrative internship at SNF (helping CEO do admin duties with all departments, including therapy)

The program I am applying to says that they will let students take a PRE OT course at the university to substitute the lack of shadowing hours due to Covid. However, I still feel like getting as much hours and experience will help me more rather than taking the online course. My fear is that many other applicants most likely have 200+ hours already due to being a rehab aide or PT tech, and I will not stand out in a pool of applicants. I'm scared my internship will barely count - as I help with more administrative duties rather than clinician. I am not licensed to do much but shadow, and their patient census has been down so I only get less than an hour in during a day. I have a few months before applications are due. After completing my last pre req, I wanted to dedicate time to finding more ways to gain shadowing or side projects that will strengthen my application. Has anyone found great ways to make up for the lack of shadowing + volunteer hours?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hmmm I mean I think if that program is your top choice, then just take the course. Most programs I am sure are understanding during this time as this is an unprecedented time.