Ways to improve critical thinking skills

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedmind

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone have suggestions on how to improve critical thinking skills throughout medical school, so that I will be well prepared for tests like the USMLE/COMLEX?

When I studied for exams in college, I did a lot of rote memorization - I basically read through the chapters and just re-read material if I didn't understand/remember. I feel as if this didn't help me much for tests requiring skillful critical thought processing like the MCAT.

Members don't see this ad.

Anyone have suggestions on how to improve critical thinking skills throughout medical school, so that I will be well prepared for tests like the USMLE/COMLEX?

When I studied for exams in college, I did a lot of rote memorization - I basically read through the chapters and just re-read material if I didn't understand/remember. I feel as if this didn't help me much for tests requiring skillful critical thought processing like the MCAT.

Talk to people who are smarter than you about stuff you don't know about.

I'd read some philosophy journal articles. Even better, take a few philosophy classes. Epistemology and Metaphysics are usually really interesting. Ethics & Logic are also good choices.

Here's an article to start with: http://www.csuchico.edu/~tjollimore/WIIRR.pdf
I must be stupid because I'm still trying to figure out what the hell it's all about...

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)