Weak Undergrad GPA, 4.0 Post-Bacc. What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kmb383

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated NYU in 2008 with a cumulative GPA of 2.9. Took the pre-med requirements with science GPA of 2.75. I have since been working on post-bacc credits and have a 4.0 with 76 credits (mostly science, a few math and other courses). I am scoring average 30 on the practice MCAT. I work full-time as a NYC Paramedic and have been full-time in school (as a married home-owner, this isn't easy). I've taken just about every science class I could enroll in - Cell Bio, Biochemistry, Genetics, A&P, etc. As a NYC Paramedic, I have a lot of advanced patient care experience including intubations and medication administration. I know I will be successful in Medical School but how will my application be viewed by admissions? My GPA fix attempt will only bring me up to about 3.25 when I apply. The NYC and surrounding area schools (Stony Brook, New York Medical, Albany) have a higher average entrance GPA and MCAT score than other areas. What is the consensus on a non-traditional student like myself? I am 27 years old and am not taking "no" for an answer. I will wait another year to apply if I have to but I would like to apply this Fall. Where do I stand for the next year's admissions? I can't leave the area but there are many schools for me to apply to here. Suggestions about how to market myself to be successful in admission and ideas about my chances of success?

Members don't see this ad.