website for bp sounds

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

star23

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know of a website you can go to listen to the sounds you hear while taking a blood pressure? How about for a normal cardiac exam?

Members don't see this ad.

Hereisa great site for listening to the heart. <a href="http://www.wilkes.med.ucla.edu/intro.html" target="_blank">http://www.wilkes.med.ucla.edu/intro.html</a>

I mean no disrespect, but are there really people in medical school that have never taken or do not know how to take a blood pressure(i.e. not familiar with the sounds)?

I mean granted, as a paramedic I may have a little more clinical type experience than some pre-clinical med students, but I learned to take blood pressures in health occupations class in high school back in 1992. It just seems like a gimme that BP, pulse, breath sounds, cpr, and basic airway stuff is known by all med students, but I am not there yet so I do not know.

Again, no disrespect or attitute, I am just asking and clarifying my preconseption.

Members don't see this ad :)
I have been told that there are actually seven sounds that can be heard while taking a blood pressure. I don't what they are or their significance but this guy was a cardiologist so he knew what he was talking about. I'm lucky to hear two when I take a BP.

Originally posted by Medic171:
•I mean no disrespect, but are there really people in medical school that have never taken or do not know how to take a blood pressure(i.e. not familiar with the sounds)?