Jul 26, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
Hey friends --

My pre-med counselor told me about this site. She doesn't know anything, so I am hoping you guys can help. I just finished my post bacc recently and my GPA is now a 3.68 cum and 3.55 science. (upward trend last 2 years). My MCATS (in order of oldest to most recent): 504, 502, 516.

Now... I applied DO last cycle because I did not think I would improve my MCAT. I got into two DO schools. I applied DO as safety. However, I want to go MD and I feel like I have a shot.

Is it possible to defer my DO admission a year while I apply MD? I know I don't have a 100% shot in MD - no one does - but what would be my next move?

I am a Missouri Resident, White, and I have worked with tons of underserved populations in my area.

-Zoon

FutureOncologist

I support cancer... research
5+ Year Member
Jun 25, 2014
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I have no familiarity with DO applications, but if they were like MD apps, then you'd need a good damn reason to defer a year. It holds a spot in the next class, which takes out a chance for someone equally or more-qualified than you to come in. Also, it prevents the school from getting money they desperately need to fund the education for others. Telling them "Oh I think DO is great and all, but I REALLY WANT AN MD because it holds more prestige" will not fly. In fact, they'll kick you out of the class and tell you "good luck next year."