Well-Meaning Advice Requested

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StaceLynn7

OCD Planner
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting. I just recently decided to hell with all my reasons that I "shouldn't" become a doctor. Nevermind this is what I've always wanted. Trust me, my reasons were stupid. I'm non traditional, but I decided to post this on the "traditional" thread to see what people suggested.

I'm planning to take the MCAT spring 2009, and apply in the summer to start 2010. I was wondering if ya'll (yes I'm from TX) would look at my current situation and suggest things that would make me look more favorable to admissions committees.

Quick rundown of me:

• BS Speech Communication, Magna Cum Laude (3.89)
  • MBA student, graduating 2010
  • Bare minimum science, taking PHYSI fall 2008, PHYSII & ChemII spring 2009, BiolII summer 2009, OrgI & Physiology fall 2009, and Org2 & Biochem spring 2010 (in addition to MBA requirements)
  • 9 years full time (yes during school, 40+ hours per week) as a Certified Pharmacy Technician; working ~25 hours/week the next 2 years
  • Alpha Chi National Council member, president of University chapter of Alpha Chi 2008-2010
Yeah, so I think that might be it. Obviously my time is a little limited, but I would really appreciate advice. Oh yeah, I'm aiming for pathology.

Thanks in advance! :D

Members don't see this ad.