Western U/COMP or NYCOM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Junella

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
Well, so far I have narrowed it down to these two schools--Western U/COMP or NYCOM.

What would you choose

Members don't see this ad.

NYCOM is a mere 10 minutes from my house and they are affiliated with some excellent hospitals in NYC, which is good. but it's campus is isolated from the rest of NYIT and the infrastructure is a bit small, which was a turn off (i knew about NYCOM for a long time because i worked as a summer camp counselor at NYIT and took a tour of NYCOM). i also believe that i would have a miserable time living at home with my parents and going to med school...very stressful. i actually declined an interview offer from NYCOM right off the bat.

the main reason why i'm going to COMP is because it was my first and best interview. the students were very open and willing to share information, they built a brand new library, they have a computer networking system in the lecture halls, and they are a part of a large university that include nursing, pt, vet., and pharm. students. i was attracted to the learning atmostphere and the diversity, etc.

personally, i was looking to study outside of the northeast region, to experience a lifestyle that is not as cut-throat...but i will always love new york. i was also accepted to PCOM and others, but i felt that COMP was that much better.

good luck on your desicion!
~jay
COMP '05

The reason I choose COMP:

4 years without In-N-Out Burgers and El Pollo Loco Chicken is more than I can handle.

Members don't see this ad :)
TNT,
In response to your post...I was in L.A. twice to go to COMP's Open House and to interview....and the 1st time I was there...I had In and Out Burger...Making fries in the sink...AWESOME.